## 22.—Expenditure and Revenue of the Public Works Department for the fiscal years 1914-1918.

## Expenditure.

			•		
Items.	1914.	1915.	1916.	1917.	1918.
	\$	\$	\$	<b>\$</b>	\$
Harbour and river works	7,696,135	10,529,346	7,401,896	6,548,568	5,551,774
Dredging plant, etc	6,228,303	5,120,611	3,875,713	2,410,413	1,405,838
Slides and Booms	167,435	333,619	115,418	111,876	64,859
Roads and Bridges	130,628	76,165	44,742	38,266	18,991
Public Buildings	12,397,465	11,648,645	6,857,206	5,717,450	5,843,289
Telegraphs	768,378	1,003,590	742,692	775,340	751,452
Miscellaneous	602,993	571,341	501,631	559,683	419,005
Total	27,991,337	29,283,317	19,539,298	16,161,596	14,055,208
		REVENUE.			
Slides and booms	76,883	80,598	108,228	97,142	26,188
Graving docks	61,490	35,305	64,216	64,919	56,484
Rents	113,670	111,098	90,129	94,729	106,205

## HARBOUR COMMISSIONS.

225,512

486.436

33,923

181.227

65,106

508,906

191,453

45,017

493,260

204.878

421,492

27,737

253,112

37,302

542,457

Certain of the more important Canadian harbours are controlled by Harbour Commissions, constituted by special act of the Dominion The number of commissioners varies, but is, Parliament for each case. in most cases, three. In every case the property of the harbour is vested in the commission, which has authority to administer the harbour, appoint the harbour master, make by-laws and regulations concerning the harbour and ships using it, fix and collect dues payable for the use of the harbour and control the expenditure of the revenue received from this source. For the purpose of harbour construction and improvement a commission may, with the consent of the Governor-in-Council, expropriate land and borrow money on debentures issued against security of the real and other property of the harbour. In the cases of Quebec and Montreal, money has been advanced by the Dominion Government against such debentures. missions are under the inspection of the Marine Department and make reports to the Minister of Marine. The harbours at the following places are administered by commissions, the date given in each case being that of the Act of Parliament under which the commission received its present constitution and powers: Pictou (1879); Quebec (1899); Three Rivers (1882); Montreal (1894); Belleville (1889); Toronto (1911); Hamilton (1912); Winnipeg and St. Boniface (1912);Vancouver (1913); New Westminster (1913); North Fraser (1913).